20/May/2006 – How’re yinz doin’?   10 comments

How’re yinz doin’?

Picture of Lydia

I love this picture of Lydia. Recently taken at dinner.

I know I owe yinz (Pittsburghese for second person plural, “you”) the next two parts of “Kaiya.” They’re coming. I have them outlined. I just need to find (or, more to the point, make) some time to write them and post them. Weekdays are packed, for the most part. Which leaves the weekends.

My parents are coming down from Toronto this weekend. Canada has a long weekend—Victoria Day is on Monday. Then, next weekend is our long weekend—Memorial Day on Monday—and Lydia and I have planned a get-away in West Virginia. (Bed & Breakfast, spa, etc. Lydia no doubt will blog about it, too.)

Thanks for taking time to read and comment on the first part. I hope all my readers are well and have a great weekend.

Posted Saturday, May 20, 2006 by Grant in Random

10 responses to “20/May/2006 – How’re yinz doin’?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. is there a free space there for me?.. i have a long weeking by next coming friday… =)

  2. Yes, I am enjoying the long weekend. mostly packing, I am moving from Newmarket to Mississauga. Thankful that work is closed on Monday. As always, I enjoy your blog.
    Leslie

  3. I am working in the garden and catching up on the laundry, nothing to exciting.

  4. have a grand time!:)

  5. “Yinz”!!!!!! Wow! I’d be interested to hear how they pronounce that!
    Here in Australia we often hear “youse” (pronounced “yuze”) as a second person plural!
    Cheers from Downunder!
    N

  6. Working out on waste management… my neighbors used to pile their garbage in front of our house(because it is the corner street). So, hoping to talk to those who pile these stinking garbages and let them wait for the garbage truck to wait. So sad about this for the past 3 weeks!

  7. @ Life as Miri: Sure. The more the merrier.

    @ WackyCanada: MISSISSAUGA!! My home town, and my family still lives there.

    @ Michelle S: Sounds very productive, even if it’s not too exciting. 🙂

    @ Elianadorothy: Thanks. We had a lot of fun.

    @ Nicholas V: Yinz… just like it looks. Short “i,” like “in.” Of course in proper English, “you” is both singular and plural second person. In the south of the United States one might hear “you all” or “y’all.”

    @ Djewdz: Sounds messy and stinky… and rude neighbors. Man!

  8. Late but not forgotten…great pic..of your wife…great post…an you guys have a wonderful week-end…also…later…^j^

  9. THANK YOU IN THE INFORMATION MY FRIENDS ME IS PEOPLE LAND WEST PAPUA SCOOL IN JAVA INDONESIANS

  10. have a good time.q

    hope to see more essays about your weekend in detail.
    ^_^

Leave a Reply

