23/Apr/06 – Where is Your Fire?   14 comments

Where’s My Fire?

In my bones or under my butt.

Lydia and I went to the symphony on Saturday night. The program was called Heavenly Concert! The second piece was The Planets by Gustav Holst (1874 – 1934). The evening was very enjoyable.

I did not want to talk about the concert per se, but, rather, something I read in the program notes. Therein, Mr. Holst was quoted to have said, “Never compose anything unless the not composing of it becomes a positive nuisance to you.”

The thought reminded me of Jeremiah’s when, after being harassed for prophesying and deciding to stop, he said, “in my heart it proved to be like a burning fire shut up in my bones; and I got tired of holding in.” (Jeremiah 20:9) Sometimes, what we have inside ourselves just has to get out.

Mr. Holst’s quote also had me thinking that he felt that the quality of his work would reflect how badly he wanted to do it. If he did his composing merely out of obligation, it would not be his best work. If, however, he waited until it was like a ‘fire shut up in his bones,’ then the quality would be surpassing. This seems to have worked for The Planets, since it is considered his masterpiece achievement.

Which brings me to my first poll.

Posted Sunday, April 23, 2006 by Grant in Random

14 responses to “23/Apr/06 – Where is Your Fire?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just have to laugh…never thought of butt or bone fire…WAIT..my butt puts out gas….does that count?? LOL

  2. @ Karen: You crack me up.

  3. I am driven by last minute deadlines. I do my best work under pressure. Like right now I have to label 1000 envelopes before I go to work in the morning. (My goal, not someone elses.) I’ve done 4000 today, but I’ve had all weekend to accomplish it, and I’m waiting until the last minute. I am SO GLAD I don’t do this for a living, and it’s just extra income. I have a fire under my butt right now. I’m in my element. 🙂

  4. I guess I have a strange answer.

    I am an artist…and I go through some very productive times, where work just flows out of me. However, it’s usually quantity that occurs, not necessarily my best work.

    My best work usually comes after I take some time away from creating. When I get away, I usually come back stronger than ever and create something that is so good it surprises me tremendously.

    So deadlines don’t apply and it’s not a factor of having enough drive…it’s a creative process I go through.

    Hope this answers your poll.

  5. I believe we produce our best work..when we are in the right frame of mind an heart…so in a sense, that is what one might say–> feeling it in your bones..my interruption, but this question has many sides…now ya done an made we use my brain…lol…thanks…we all need to go deep once an awhile…^j^

  6. Guess I’m more of a slow burn kinda gal…I have my Christmas cards already addressed for this year. However, they were bought for last year and never made it to the mailbox…sheesh!

  7. I noticed I tend to achieve a lot of more personal and creative accomplishments while procrastinating on some other, less tasteful task. When there are necessary chores to be done, I seem to find other stuff more worth pursuing.

  8. Got some really good (thoughtful) comments on this one. Lydia’s Mom even sent me an email with her thoughts.

    Thanks everyone.

    — Grant

  9. I believe I get results in most of the things because I really like what I do whatever that may be. I don’t seem to get bored or stuck with my own projects or work, though some tasks may be more attractive than others. I guess I’m just lucky! 😀 Have a great weekend.

  10. That is if you are working, what if you are not.

  11. Very thought provoking topic Grant. There is no one ideal situation for me … for I would say, I’m a scientist in mind and an arist in my heart. For years I’d worked with deadline fire under my butt and spent many sleepless nights trying to finish assignments on time. Deadline did not bother me tho’ but lacked of inspiration that produced only so so work. Many times I wished for more time … yet often, extra time did not bring the much needed inspiration. I would say, my best work came from inspired hard work, with a fire burning on my butt!!! Does that make sense Grant?

    Ha ha ha .. later than, let me take another vacation.

  12. I don’t know when i do my best work cause i rarely stop to think about what i do, i’m the kind that keeps going forward, i very rarely stop to evaluate what i’ve done, but i always do the best i can no matter what.

  13. I don’t recall how I found your page. I believe I was meandering through various pages and lit upon yours. Anyway, to get to the point of my comment, The Planets, absolutely wonderful, especially Jupiter. And as for the fire, it’s both in my bones or my butt, depending on the job to be done.

  14. A bee in my bonnet – anal retentive – obsessive compulsive – do or die!!

    Now I need a drink!!

    "Єpiѕtling ŊutΩpian"

Leave a Reply

