July 13, 2005 – Firewalls bad   1 comment


Links:

BlogImage_Firewalls_02

I’m pretty sure that the readers of this blog—both of you—have (almost) no interest in firewalls or network security. Truth be told, even though I have network administration responsibilities, I have almost no interest in firewalls and network security either. Maybe I should, but I don’t.

Even so, you may realize that firewalls are considered a basic and indispensable network security device, like brakes in your car. You may not understand the nitty-gritty of how they work, but you sure as sunrise want them present and operating.

Me, too. That’s why I was so impressed with this article. The author, Stuart Berman, throws away what we are supposed to believe and comes up with a unique, though unconventional, solution. I love this way of thinking.

We need to challenge the “that’s the way we’ve always done it” and “everyone else does it that way” approaches to doing things. Once in a while, we need to take a step back and ask ourselves, “What am I really trying to do here? Is this the best way to do this?” We need to give new ideas a run through the “sanity checker” before we discard them out of hand. Some of the best ideas are such because they were conceived out of the box. I think we need more of this kind of thinking.

Posted Wednesday, July 13, 2005 by Grant in Random

One response to “July 13, 2005 – Firewalls bad

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pretty thick article. Well written. I don’t know why I am attracted to this kind of stuff. Perhaps my brain has been put on hold for far too long!!! Will come back to read some more.

Leave a Reply

